top of page

Growing Up: 6th grade

The Growing Up unit is designed for students to explore the possibilities of immortality, and what does that mean?  Would they choose to live forever?  What would living forever look like?  Students will compare and contrast their current age to that of an adult.  Would they prefer the life of a grown-up person and share your life with someone you love, or would they choose to remain as they are?  In his novel, Tuck Everlasting, Natalie Babbitt explores what if you could live forever?  Would you? Click on the book link to view the book trailer for Tuck Everlasting.


My Warrior Self: 7th grade

My Warrior Self unit  Up is designed to help students explore the landmark 1954 Supreme Court ruling, Brown v. Board of Education, which brought the promise of integration to Little Rock, Arkansas, but it was hard-won for the nine black teenagers chosen to integrate Central High School in 1957 in the novel, Warriors Don't Cry by Melba Pattillo Beals click on the book link to view the book trailer for Warriors Don't Cry.


Unheard Voices: 8th grade

The Unheard voices unit is designed for students to explore the roots of slavery and freedom through life experiences as Isabel wages her own fight...for freedom. Promised freedom upon the death of their owner, she and her sister, Ruth, in a cruel twist of fate, become the property of a malicious New York City couple, the Lockton's, who have no sympathy for the American Revolution and even less for Ruth and Isabel. When Isabel meets Curzon, a slave with ties to the Patriots, he encourages her to spy on her owners, who know details of British plans for invasion. She is reluctant at first, but when the unthinkable happens to Ruth, Isabel realizes her loyalty is available to the bidder who can provide her with freedom.
 Click on the book link to view the book trailer Chains.

bottom of page